An alphabetical journey across India (interactive map)

Use this map as an interactive guide to India’s tribal cultural heritage. There are 29 states and 7 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. | Learn more >>

India is a secular state with a constitution committed to the unique demography, history and culture of each state and union territory – >>


Some States and Union Territories may not acknowledge the presence of any community recognized as Scheduled Tribe (ST). Yet people from tribal communities now also reside in metropolitan areas, either as (poor) work migrants such as craftsmen or labourers; or (as in the case of educated Adivasis) as students, researchers and professionals: persons with “tribal roots” yet affiliated with India’s government and private institutions such as banks, the mass media and other major companies. They are bound to be more assimilated, even “invisible”, than those who remain attached to their ancestral lands.


Search for an item in libraries near you: >>